OH DEATH. Tribute to Arc. Mohammed Arabo Abba by Mahmoud M Bello

DF37322D-F996-4221-A730-7698F2A52EDFOh Death!!!

The past 3 weeks has been the worst of my life as far as my mind can accurately remember. In fact, the whole of 2020 till date has been from one calamity to the other. January I thought would’ve been the worst having been diagnosed with an autoimmune disease, which nearly took me. But alhamdulillah, things are getting better.

Covid came with it’s very unpleasant surprises and restrictions to life and wellbeing. However, the last week of July came with a terrible knock on my life when I lost my uncle, a father and a guardian. Baba Kaduna exemplified everything a gentleman is.

I remember the last time we met in February was at Zahra’splace. He came to see Zahra as she was recovering from malaria. He spent over an hour with us talking and generally offering advices.

1st August came with the heaviest blow yet, when death took away my cousin Umaimah U. Aliyu in her sleep, we got the news in the afternoon and as shocking as that can be, death again struck it painful fangs when it took my brother, adviser and mentor Arc. Mohammed Arabo Abba. The pain of losing loved ones within two weeks is unexplainable. Arabo is one of those that always discouraged me from going back to Yola after my NYSC. He insisted I stay back and pursue my career and Express opportunities. I am where I am today hugely partly to his efforts and contributions.

For all of those Arabo had a connection with, none can say anything other than beautiful things about him. We pray Allah bless the souls of the departed and grant them all Jannah Firdaus and raise and bless all that is left behind of their children.

Ya Allah, you know certainly what no other mortal knows, and to You we are submissive of your will and doing, make this test on us easy and forgive our departed ones.

Arabo Abba has left a huge void that can’t be filled, not here in this world, and I pray my brother Isa Abba Modibbo finds the strength to live with this grief and hole as best as he could.

Life, indeed can never be the same without Baba Kaduna and Arabo Abba. They say time heals all wounds, but in truth, it can only to a certain extent numb the wounds for a brief period and one will learn how to live with the scars deeply etched in our hearts.

The testimonies coming from the people who have interacted with especially Baba and Arabo, made me remember the words of my grandfather Mal Abba Dahiru Zumo, “that this (death) can never be wished or thought of, but when it happens, the testimonies on the dead is what everyone wishes and loves to hear, as it soothes the heart”.

Ya Allah, we pray for your intercession and love for the departed, ease their affairs, expand their graves and grant them Jannah Firdaus ya arhamar raheemeen.

Mahmud M Bello

About Maryam Ado

An amateur writer that writes about everything that flows from her heart down to the tips of her fingers. Anything. Everything. Something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to OH DEATH. Tribute to Arc. Mohammed Arabo Abba by Mahmoud M Bello

  1. Danlami says:

    I searched for Arabo online but couldn’t find him. I met him in 2001 when I was graduating from ABU and he was trying to come in to Architecture. His small frame then, belied his intelligence. I needed a small computer contract executed and he was one of the few knowledgeable in computers around there then. I remember his email, arabo4you because he helped me set up my first yahoo email in ABU Zaria.

    After all these years I was so sure he was doing well but I needed to be sure. So I googled Architect Arabo, not remembering his other names. And sure this face popped up. It was Arabo my little friend who I met at Area A and had grown into a wonderful young Architect but had passed away. Alas! What a way to reconnect his memories and find out!

    Please how did he die? Did he leave a family behind?

Leave a comment